Home

image

Before I sleep tonight,
Lord, I have a prayer to say.
Promise me another sunrise,
Grant me another day.

I have miles to run,
Before I rest my feet,
And lessons to learn,
Before I cease to breathe.

I have dreams in my heart,
That haven’t seen the light of day,
Overshadowed and barred,
By my own crippling fears.

Let me not go yet,
Before I’ve walked the many roads
That I fear to take,
Where all the wild flowers grow.

Or without a kiss goodbye
From my loving mother,
And a chance to apologise,
And tell her I love her.

Send me not into eternal sleep,
With a song unsung,
With a story unwrit,
And a poem undone.

Send me not away,
With this many regrets,
Lest they should weigh
On my soul even in death.

So before I close my eyes,
Lord, I have a prayer to say.
Promise me another sunrise,
Grant me another day.

Leave a Reply

